Pro team kit. A big no no?

Packman85
Packman85 Posts: 3
edited October 2015 in Road beginners
I have been cycling on and off for the past 3 or 4 years. I'm thinking of joining a local club as I'm sure riding on your own is not quite the same as in a group. From a football background, for me it's acceptable to wear replica kit. If I were to turn up in say a Movistar kit to my local club would I look like an idiot (or typical newbie)

Thanks

Comments

• bob6397
    bob6397 Posts: 218
    I wouldn't.. But then I have quite strong opinions about Team Kit being worn by non-team riders.. I simply think it shouldn't be allowed. In any sport..

But that apparently is just me..

And whilst I do judge people on wearing Team kit (Esp if Team Sky and the (often overweight) rider is riding a black Pinarello with Dura-Ace on it at the same time - which to me screams "All the gear and no idea"..), I won't let that affect having a conversation with that person...

Just my opinion.. Wear what you like and don't care what others think of you.. Once you stop caring (and that doesn't mean be rude to them - it just means let them think what they think), the world is an easier place to live in...

bob6397
    Boardman HT Team - Hardtail
    Rose Pro-SL 2000 - Roadie
  • It's personal choice really.

From my experience I've found most cycling clubs very friendly and you get a range of people. I would say join the club and buy the club kit. That way you feel part of the club.

At my club and most people buy cycling gear that does a functional job or to their budget. There is no reason not to wear replica kit, but personally I stopped doing that when I was 12/13.

It does make me smile though when you see a 50 year old bloke in full team SKY kit, beer belly etc.....
  • StillGoing
    StillGoing Posts: 5,211