Folding Road Bike?!

Ajay1993
Ajay1993 Posts: 2
edited September 2015 in Road beginners
Hey guys,

I'm new here, have been a lurker for a while - please be nice!! :P

I am looking at purchasing my first road bike and came across some folding ones on the internet:http://www.foldingbikeguy.com
I was wondering if anyone has any experience using these and if they are worth purchasing - would be nice to be able to easily carry my bike around...

Comments

• If you want a folding road bike, ie a folding bike with drop handlebars, then the only ones I've seen are Moulton:

http://www.moultonbicycles.co.uk/models.html

But they aint exactly cheap!
  • term1te
    term1te Posts: 1,462
    I've no personal experience of them, but an Airnimal folding bike might be what you're after? Again, not cheap...http://airnimal.eu/
  • Ritchey make the Break Away which is foldable, though aimed more at taking away whilst travelling than daily commute/folding.

http://www.pezcyclingnews.com/tech-n-spec/ritchey-carbon-breakaway-review/

Again not exactly cheap.

Really depends on how you plan to use it/budget/compromises happy to accept.
  • Mad_Malx
    Mad_Malx Posts: 4,993
    OP - where are you? Website you link is US I think, these makes aren't seen much over here (UK)

Bromptons are the most popular in uk, particularly with commuters. They are well engineered to pack small and fast as carryon luggage on trains. There are unofficial competitions every morning at commuter stations when riders see who can reassemble the fastest - and it's only a few seconds.

http://www.foldingbikes.co.uk/ has a few different makes (I have no commercial interest and don't have one).
  • fenix
    fenix Posts: 5,437
    Why do you need to carry your bike around with you ? I ride mine. Much easier.
  • Monty Dog
    Monty Dog Posts: 20,614