Masters Catagory, when do I know I am ready?

Rfmullig
Rfmullig Posts: 4
edited September 2015 in Road beginners
I am 51 years old and am interested in competing in the Masters catagory.
I am somewhat new to cycling, and due to my natural competitive nature I am very interested in racing.
Today I did a short 20 mile ride with moderate-hilly terrain and my average speed was 17mph. I want to be competitive. On longer rides with moderate terrain the computer has my good averages at about that speed as well. Should I consider competing?
R

Comments

• beski
    beski Posts: 542
    Have you got a Garmin Edge? If so then uploading to Strava will give you an idea of how your times compare to others
    Giant Defy 4 2014
    GT Avalanche Expert 2006
    Specialized Hardrock 1989
  • I agree with beski, you don't need a Garmin though, you can just use an iPhone or Android phone for now, it will be accurate enough to compare yourself to others.

I'd advise going premium too, you can then filter the leaderboards to see how you're comparing to others in your age range. Google "60 day Strava trial" and you can upgrade to premium for 60 days to test it out for free. The standard trial is 30 days but there is some promo on at the moment.

Strava is a great motivational tool (for me at least), competing against others/your own PB is fun and keeps you interested/obsessed (in my case anyway).

Have you considered trying out a time trial?
  • There's only one way to find out.

If you're small and bouncy you might be OK. If you're larger and steady then not. Can you ride very close to other riders at 30mph? I suggest finding a group or club and starting there to get experience of bunch riding before diving in too deeply. At our age hitting the ground hurts more.

Paul
  • whoof
    whoof Posts: 756
    I suggest finding a group or club and starting there to get experience of bunch riding before diving in too deeply. At our age hitting the ground hurts more.

Paul