Best places to ride in Merseyside?

mike147147
mike147147 Posts: 24
edited September 2015 in Road beginners
I've just bought a new bike, it's my first road bike! :D

I'm looking for some nice places to ride in or around Merseyside. Preferably with some nice scenery.

I'm not against getting the train to go a bit further afield as long as it takes less than an hour to get there.

I'm thinking of joining a club at a later date as I'm sure they'll be able to reveal some nice routes, but I'd rather get a few miles under my belt first.

Comments

• keef66
    keef66 Posts: 13,123
    Depends which bit of Merseyside you live in. As a student I lived in Birkenhead and cycled all over the Wirral, with the occasional trip beyond Chester and into North Wales. That was lovely cycling, but I've just worked out it was nearly 40 years ago :shock:

Best way of getting into your local cycling scene would be to join a friendly club. Must be dozens around Liverpool?
  • Flâneur
    Flâneur Posts: 3,081
    Liverpool side; head out to Ormskirk direction or Formy. Enjoy the cross winds Getting out the centre is never that fun but you have to start somewhere.

Wirral; plenty of easy 30 mile roads around without being in a city, easy to go further afield into Cheshire or North Wales. Cheshire is rolling and North Wales has more bumps.

Let me know which side of the water and I can link some routes (more so for Wirral outbound)
    Stevo 666 wrote: Come on you Scousers! 20/12/2014
    Crudder
    CX
    Toy
  • where about are you, try heading towards Ormskirk straight up the A59 from Maghull then head out towards Parbold hill, good climbing and nice routes around there

look at it on google maps to get an idea
  • Flâneur
    Flâneur Posts: 3,081
    A recent route the club did over towards Ormskirk
    https://www.strava.com/activities/364981840

Shorter version of the linked ride as garmin files
    http://douglas.cx/wl/9AugLong.tcx (for garmin 500)