Will the bike fit in the car?

GedM
GedM Posts: 10
edited August 2015 in MTB beginners
Hi all,

Newbie here who's just bought his first MTB. I pick it up tomorrow from decathalon, but I've just realised that it might not fit in the car...

I'll be trying to get it home in a BMW 3 series coupe. Do you think it'll fit?
I don't wanna have to buy a cheapo bike rack just to get it home as I plan on getting a proper tow bar one in the coming weeks.

Thanks

Comments

• oodboo
    oodboo Posts: 2,171
    I carry my 29er hardtail in my fiesta. Just take the wheels off and it'll probably go in ok.
    I love horses, best of all the animals. I love horses, they're my friends.

Strava
  • GedM
    Yeah, taking the wheel off will hopefully help. I'd better do some reading on how the rear wheel comes off so I don't look like a pillock in the shop.

A fiesta is probably better suited due to it being a hatch. The boot on the Coupe is turd for carrying bigish things because they've got to get under the rear screen. It's a 2 door as well, so I'm not even sure if it'd fit in the back.

Fallen at the first hurdle....
  • oodboo
    oodboo Posts: 2,171
    Both wheels off, the slide the frame in. Once that's in just fit the wheels in somewhere.
    I love horses, best of all the animals. I love horses, they're my friends.

Strava
  • GedM
    I'll give it a go. Thanks for the tips :)
  • Don't touch brakes with wheels out.
  • GedM
    Don't touch brakes with wheels out.

I'm guessing the pistons will pop out?
  • 97th choice
    97th choice Posts: 2,222
    Nope, but you won't get the wheel in as the pads will have closed together. Put a bit of cardboard between them or even better ask the shop for a couple of plastic spacers.
    Too-ra-loo-ra, too-ra-loo-rye, aye

Giant Trance
    Radon ZR 27.5 Race
    Btwin Alur700
    Merida CX500
  • Might be worth taking something to cover the chain and cassettes. Keep the oil off your seats.
    “Jij bent niet van suiker gemaakt”
  • larkim