London to Brighton off road training

Sophia88
Sophia88 Posts: 3
edited July 2016 in Routes
HI,

Newbie here, just looking for some advice re the above. I am looking for a route within hampshire area that would be of similar grade hill to the dreaded Ditchling Beacon off road hill. I have made it my mission to get to the top as heard that its hard. So looking for grade 4/3 hills, any advise?

Thanks,

Sophia

Comments

• Chunkers1980
    Chunkers1980 Posts: 8,035
    Can you even do the beacon off road?

Just get the miles in. Any hill you find is good enough, just repeat.
  • BloggingFit
    BloggingFit Posts: 919
    Not quite Hampshire but Butser Hill just past Petersfield or com g back a bit closer you have some climbs around Devils Punchbowl in Hindhead.
    Bird Aeris : Trek Remedy 9.9 29er : Trek Procaliber 9.8 SL
  • njee20
    njee20 Posts: 9,613
    Butser Hill will be far harder. I did the SDW last week, and didn't find Ditchling Beacon a problem at all to be honest.
  • Sophia88
    Sophia88 Posts: 3
    Hi,

Thanks for the replies. I think its the off road version of the ditchling beacon, not many people seem to make it up. I have family saying that i will never make it up, so i have too now!

:lol:
  • booldawg
    booldawg Posts: 290
    Is this the BHF organised ride you are doing? The one in September?

Did this back in 2011, planning on doing it again this year as it is a great day out.

If the route is the same every year then the hill you are talking about is Thundersbarrow Hill. The climb starts just outside the village of Bamber and yes, is basically the off road Ditchling Beacon. Don't forget you'll be crossing both the North and South Downs on this ride!

Personally I didn't make it up the hill, but don't worry if you don't - you'll be in good company! One of my mates who rode this with me made it all the way up in one go but he weighs about 9 stone and is a machine.