Why do I keep splipping on my pedals

ageis
ageis Posts: 49
edited August 2015 in MTB beginners
Hi I bought myself a norco 7.1 charger 6 weeks ago.

So I have had this bike quite some time but I find occasionally when a pedaling I can feel my foot lift off the pedal. I'm wearing brand new trainers which I've only worn a few times.

Bear in mind this is on the flat not on a rough trail. So how can I prevent myself from doing this?

I prefer not to use spd's as of yet. I'm still a beginner I don't want to have to keep in mind am strapped in.

my pedals look similar to this
http://www.tredz.co.uk/.Wellgo-LU950-Flat-Pedal_78666.htm?sku=254464&utm_source=Google&utm_medium=AdwordsProductAds&utm_campaign=Adwords&gclid=CP7UxJKyh8cCFajHtAodDU4KtQ#

Comments

• Antm81
    Antm81 Posts: 1,406
    What trainers are you using, those pedals won't provide much grip either
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    You're doing something wrong.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • Try putting on a couple of stone, or carrying some old triangular weights in your camel pack.

or get a set of dmr's and some skate shoes.
  • Is your foot lifting of the pedal at the bottom of your down stroke when pedaling? If so I'd say your seat is set too high. There should be a slight bend in your knee when your leg is extended.

Also those pedals are not at all grippy.
  • robertpb
    robertpb Posts: 1,866
    Poor pedals, poor shoes and not keeping a constant pressure on the pedal.

You want pedals that look like this, http://www.superstarcomponents.com/en/delta-evo-pedals.htm

Trainers with plastic soles are no good, soft rubbery soles are.
    Now where's that "Get Out of Crash Free Card"
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    OP says it was on flat roads. No point in spending on shoes and pedals if the technique is all wrong.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda