Ridgeback bikes

SomeMightShay
SomeMightShay Posts: 4
edited August 2015 in Commuting general
Just wondering whay experience people have of ridgeback bikes?

I am fairly new to cycling, having lost my compnay car i bought a cheap apollo mountain bkie off my sister for a nominal fee. This bkie has served its purpose in getting me used to commuting on the roads to work but as a steel frame mountain bike it is not exactly the easiest ride (it is bloody heavy) and the gearing is not great. I went to my local bike shop and told him i would prefer a straight handle commuting bike that would get me there quicker than my current bike and also allow joining my friends on their road bikes for short weekend journeys. He has recommended a couple out of the ridgeback catalogue he has. Firstly he has suggested the vanteo with 24 speed and cyclo-cross tyres
http://www.ridgeback.co.uk/bike/Vanteo

This seemed a good bike but then i glanced acrosss the Flight 2.0. 2.5lb less and chrome fork which i think i would notice the difference on the climbs up out of the town centre and might actually allow me to do longer road rides in my free time. £200 more but i don't mind the extra if i will feel the weight/speed advantage

http://www.ridgeback.co.uk/bike/Flight-2-0

To be honest i had never heard of ridgeback before now but that can be said of many brands before my recent venture in two wheels (also been told GT do good commute bikes). I do trust this guy for his honesty and his mechanical skill but at the same time i guess it is his perogative to push the products which he deals with, he only has a tiny store and so can't offer a huge range of brand name bikes.

Any comments from past/current ridgeback owners welcomed.

cheers

Comments

• phills
    phills Posts: 68
    What is your budget for the bike?
  • I bought the slightly cheaper one in the range (Ridgeback Velocity) last year, and used it for commuting over the winter - I'm using my road bike now the weather is better.