Is cycling to work any safer now than it was 5+ years ago?

DonDaddyD
DonDaddyD Posts: 12,689
edited June 2015 in Commuting chat
I've been riding to work since 2006 and I've commuted by bike to and from South East London, South West London, East London, West London, Essex and the City.

I look around at the ever increasing number of cyclist, cycle superhighways and routes, increasingly complex junctions, segregated lanes etc and I have to ask the question; Is cycling to work any safer or more enjoyable now than it was pre-cycle superhighway (5+ years ago)?

I think of my commute back then I have to say, no it isn't. Don't get me wrong, some measures have been great, many others are just ill thought out or excessive. Elephant & Castle for example, nothing was better than the double roundabout layout and any improvement since has made it worse for bicycle and vehicle alike.

Back when I first started cycling to work while anyone could jump on a bike and commute, to truly enjoy it and feel safe you very quickly learned the rules, unspoken etiquette, the roads and routes you just do not ride along (Blackfriars Bridge) and most importantly how to be assertive without being foolhardy. Cycling to work wasn't for everyone and seemed to appeal to those of a particular mindset.

Less cyclists, less vehicles/traffic and traffic calming measures, less complex junctions led to a much more direct and safer journey IMO.

The above however leads to a double edged sword as we are taught never to argue that having more people cycling to work is a good thing, and in part it is; it has has led to a yearly London Freeride, an ever growing selection of sportives, races, cycling groups (amateur and professional) et all and a booming (if not inflated priced cycling industry).