Numb toes

Jafaremraf
Jafaremraf Posts: 26
edited July 2015 in Road beginners
I wear trainers and have cages on my pedals, but quickly get numb toes which I don't believe is because they get cold.... I suspect it is down to pressure on the ball of my foot. I have read on other threads where this is a problem, but in most cases the sufferer wears proper cycling shoes, not trainers.

I am very new to road cycling and not a confident or skilled rider and very reluctant to go into clipless shoes/pedals (I can fall off easily enough without them!), but I wonder whether wearing clipless shoes with cages could help? Would the hard sole distribute the pressure across the sole of my foot? Or is it more likely that it will make the problem worse because the rigid sole makes it hard to move/flex the feet and toes? Also, is the clipless shoe/cage even workable? I know the only way to find out is to try it out, but those shoes are expensive. Has anyone else been in a similar situation and can offer any advice?

I'm not a competitive cyclist, I just want to go out and enjoy the ride.

Thanks

Jane

Comments

• Cygnus
    Cygnus Posts: 1,879
    Do you find that your fingers get cold as well? I wear proper cycling shoes but suffer from Raynard's Syndrome which mean my fingers and feet get cold even in summer, I wear wool socks when the temperature is a little bit cool which seems to help a bit.
  • bronco016
    bronco016 Posts: 39
    Have you had your bike set up checked my an expert, say someone in a bike shop? It could be that your saddle is not positioned correctly (too far back or too far forward). If so repeatedly pedalling with your legs in the wrong position could lead to niggles. Usually the knee, but maybe your foot as well. I'm no expert at all but it might be worth considering getting it looked at
    http://www.mallorcacyclinghotels.co.uk
    Cycling friendly accommodation in Mallorca
  • desweller
    desweller Posts: 5,175