Next steps in getting better?

akc42
akc42 Posts: 43
Hi all,

I am a relative newbie, having bought a hybrid after the Olympics, and just starting to ride in 2013. At the end of 2013 I bought myself a light weigh(ish) road bike (Van Nicholas Yukon) and spent 2014 getting better. I set my best time up Box Hill Zig Zag at 9.57 in August 2014.

This year, after illness over Christmas that didn't really clear until the end of Feb, I started out almost as bad as at the end of 2013, but some hard work during the spring (and semi retirement allowing some midweek riding) has brought my strength back towards last years peak. I am however riding more, but not loosing the weight I have before. At my lowest over the last couple of years I was 80KG (down from 103KG when I started riding), but for the last 3 or 4 months I have hovered around the 85KG mark. Try as hard as I can, I cannot seem to break 10:15 this year for Zig Zag.

After loosing a promising ride up zig zag to some dodgy GPS from my Garmin 200, I have splashed out on a Garmin 510 (because of the Glonass facility), which also came with cadence sensor and heart rate monitor.

My first ride out earlier this week has been an eye opener, particularly realising that my cadence was generally quite low, and that at my age (I am 64) my heart rate seems quite strange (resting about 50, max on rides AFTER steepest hils around 170). I only managed 10:46 up zigzag as part of this ride, but on the way up I passed someone who was clearly someone being taught (given her instructors tee shirt) who was employing a very high cadence in a very low gear. It was all the more galling as near the top they passed me still with this very high cadence as I had tired.

I want to set my self a goal of breaking 8 minutes up Zig Zag - using the new tools (cadence and heart rate monitor). I am looking for suggestions as to how to go about it.