Advice for getting into crits (and general racing)

Tower.II
Tower.II Posts: 4
edited June 2015 in Road beginners
Hi guys,

So I'm relatively new to road cycling (started in December) and was thinking of having a go at racing crits. I've got a sporty background and have been working on bike fitness (tabata's, FTP training, hills), can comfortably do 50 milers, but have no clue how to ride in a pack of racers, race strategy, etc. Watching videos and races can only teach you so much before you actually have to experience the real thing to learn.

My question is whether or not it's madness to have a go at the Crystal Palace Crits (I know it's wayy out of my league, but it's the only race series that seems to be going on right now within a reasonable distance). If it is a terrible idea, how should I get involved in the local crit scene? Any and all advice is welcome!

[I haven't joined a cycling club yet as their intro rides are the first weekend of each month and I missed June's]

Comments

• iPete
    iPete Posts: 6,076
    edited June 2015
    You might not want to hear this but..

...club club club club club club club club club club!
    Depends where you are but KW are doing their newbie run this Sunday.. just saying ;)
    http://www.kingstonwheelers.com/index.php/join-us/membership

There are also race training sessions at places like Hillingdon, Cyclopark and Hog Hill.
    There is one this weekend for example at Cyclopark
  • angry_bird
    angry_bird Posts: 3,786
    Honestly, I'd join a club first if you have no clue or experience riding in a pack. That way you'll get some decent experience riding with others in close proximity at least. Without wanting to generalise too much but people turing up at races with no group riding experience can be somewhat of a liability at times. Racing is fun but does carry the very real risk of crashing and doing some serious damage to both yourself and others.