First ride on road bikes today!

jamie_liverpool
jamie_liverpool Posts: 21
edited June 2015 in Road beginners
Hi everyone ,

Yesterday I went up to wheelbase in Kendal and purchased my trek 1.2 2015 road bike. Made up with it and was excited to get out on Sunday morning for the first time!

Woke up this morning and it was pouring down and very windy, great! Still went out anyway and bike was great. Didn't realise how unfit I was to be fair I honestly thought it would be easier , there a few hills around here, which didn't look so bad until I was on them!!

Ended up doing about 12 miles. Think my saddle height may be wrong as my thighs where aching quite a lot so I dont know if my legs where too bent and there for required more effort ? Also the saddle is not comfy at all, can feel the bones at the bottom of my pelvis quite a lot, wondering if this is because im new to the bike or could be down to saddle height again?

I'm hoping to commute to work which is 10 miles each way, I honestly thought I'd be able to do that straight away but can defo see my having to build my fitness up first! I'm certainly not the marco pantani I hoped I would be !!!

Comments

• sirmol
    sirmol Posts: 287
    I found the saddle just needs 'wearing in' although you can explore with different positions etc. Your saddle height trying raising it and going for a little ride then change it whilst out, spend a few miles trying to find the most comfortable and best riding position. I ended up putting it a lot higher than i firth thought i should have it. Enjoy :)
  • Get a proper bike fit. There are guides on the internet to do this yourself, but it's worth getting it done properly.

I went through five saddles before I found one that suits me. (Specialized Toupe) But the one you have may be fine. If you have pain on your sit bones (what you're describing) then the saddle is doing it's job - your weight should be on your sit bones and not your perineum. You may just need to get used to it.