Mountain biking at Dalby for a roadie

markhewitt1978
markhewitt1978 Posts: 7,614
edited August 2015 in Routes
I wouldn't exactly call myself a hardened roadie with my earth shattering 15mph average - however road biking is all I've done for the last three years, so I have all the kit for that but nothing for mountain biking.

A friend has invited me to go do the red route at Dalby forest this weekend and I've arranged to hire a bike.

Any advice on what awaits me? I've never done proper mountain biking before so don't know quite what to expect? Firstly regarding kit, I'm thinking a long sleeved jersey (even if it is bright yellow) and longish shorts would be a good idea? I'd normally go out with short sleeves in decent weather. What about gloves, essential?

Apparently the bikes do come with bottle cages so at least I can bring my water bottle with me.

I'm looking forward to making a fool of myself :D

Comments

• The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    Dalby isn't too hard to ride.

Long sleeves are a good idea, baggies are generally used but you can wear road Lycra if you want, I always wear mits (unless it's very cold), saves on grazed palms if you have a low speed off and protects your knuckles from branches/thorns/nettles as well.
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • kajjal
    kajjal Posts: 3,380
    Just wear whats comfortable. I wear the same gear mountain biking or road biking but gloves or mitts are more important for mountain biking and also a helmet.

The main difference is mountain biking is harder work over the same distance and you need better bike handling skills. A red route will be fine just remember it is designed to be ridden and keep looking ahead to get ready for whats coming next. Also get used to the disc brakes before setting off as they are alot more powerful than rim brakes.