Bike Advice

Glenster0804
Glenster0804 Posts: 5
edited May 2015 in Commuting general
Hi All,

This is my first time visiting and posting on the forum. Please forgive me as I am really clueless about bikes and have not ridden one for a couple of years.

But just started a new job, which is quite easy to commute to via the cuckoo trial and would save money on unnecessary petrol costs. So planning on buying a bike and cycling to work.

As stated above need a bike mainly for commuting on a daily basis and perhaps use on holidays and weekends if I catch the bug again! So only after a good entry level bike so no need to break the bank but after something that with good quality to last through high usage and that will provide a good ride as journey will be around 30 mins to and back from work.

I assume a hybrid bike would suit me best (though please correct me if I am wrong and a mtb or road would be better), as the cuckoo trail is off road but mostly pathed (some pics below)

cuckoo_trail.jpg

200px-Cuckoo_Trail_between_Polegate_and_Hailsham_-_geograph.org.uk_-_62562.jpg

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQ73cqRsZuA3O8fmaa2EGjKjcC7DCmo8ey3PGm9ZTdK0HX8oQVh9w

I am not overly fussed about budget, but do want to break the bank for an occasional use bike. Have set aside around £200-£300 for a second hand/recycled bike but only as a rough gauge.

Could anyone give me some examples of great bikes that would be ideal for me.

Thanks for viewing, reading and hopefully helping. It is much appreciated.

Any info I left out or other questions, please ask.

Comments

• Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    Post this in commuting chat as it will get much more response. Looks like a lovely commute!

I would suggest a cross bike (like a road bike but clearances for wider, knobbly tyres and mudguards) to cope with the varied terrain. Not sure where to get one for £300 though! Maybe an old mountain bike with slicks?
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812