Clipping in issues (Look keo cleats)

robthehungrymonkey
robthehungrymonkey Posts: 616
edited May 2015 in Road beginners
Hey there,

I've been using clipless pedals since I started riding (both SPD's and road SPD SL's). I've recently changed to Look Keo carbon pedals (was given them by a friend), and am really struggling to clip in!

It's quite embarrassing on occasion, there are traffic lights near my house on a steep hill, and I really struggle to clip in if I have to stop on the hill. I never had the problem with shimano pedals.

Is this normal? Is it because my cleats are too worn (i'm using old cleats that I somehow had in my box of bits)? I can't see how worn cleats make much difference to clipping in.

Is it because i've gone to lighter, better pedals and they spin a bit more when you push off up a hill?
http://www.KOWONO.com - Design-Led home furniture and accessories.

Comments

• drlodge
    drlodge Posts: 4,826
    Clipping in with Look pedals can be a bit tricky, I certainly don't find it easy at times but after getting used to it, I have kinda got the knack. The hard bit is rotating the pedal and positioning the cleat so you can then slide it in forwards. If it doesn't go it, I find it easiest to remove foot from pedal and start over again.

Clipping in on a hill is always tricky, best to move across the road while clipping in, then turn to go up.
    WyndyMilla Massive Attack | Rourke 953 | Condor Italia 531 Pro | Boardman CX Pro | DT Swiss RR440 Tubeless Wheels
    Find me on Strava
  • w00dster
    w00dster Posts: 880
    Yeah the same happens with mine, but you kind of get used to it and come up with a strategy. They seem very light on the crank and spin very easy.