London to Brighton BHF ride

royalcbr
royalcbr Posts: 15
edited June 2015 in Road general
Hi there,

Not sure this is the right place to have this thread but I'm new to BikeRadar.

Basically I was hoping to see if anyone else is taking part in the London to Brighton ride for the British Heart Foundation this year in June and I traveling down from the Buckinghamshire/Bedfordshire area.

I'm having a nightmare trying to organise getting to the start in Clapham Common and then home again after the event, mainly because of the lack of trains allowing bikes on the day - does anyone have any suggestions or can help out that would be great.

Thanks in advance, Mark

Comments

• diy
    diy Posts: 6,473
    Drive down to birghton and park just outside where you can get free parking. Ride to the start from there, do the ride and ride back to your car after. Depending on your start time it will take you 5-6 hours to do the 52 miles as its ridiculously busy and impossible to maintain any pace. The ride from brighton to the start should be doable in 3ish hours or less even if you aren't that fast.

If you aren't up for that do it the night before and get the train back.

Alternatively do the 75 mile off road version - which is lots more fun, a nicer route and has about 80% less participants.
  • royalcbr
    Thanks for the advice diy. I have thought about doing the off-road version in the future.

One issue is that the start is in London and the finish in Brighton, did you mean drive down to Brighton, park and catch the train back to London for the start?
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    You could get the coach/bike transport back to Clapham Common
  • sherer
    sherer Posts: 2,460
    point to point events are never easy with the logistics. They do offer a coach and bike service back to Clapham so you could do that.

What I have done in the past is get family to ferry me to Clapham then meet them in Brighton after the event.