Advice on 'BOOST' System

richag7791
richag7791 Posts: 10
edited March 2015 in MTB buying advice
Hi
I could really do with some good advice and guidance please re the new 'BOOST' system recently launched by SRAM and Rockshox.

I'm a newbie who after much researching has just taken the decision to purchase my first full susser! :) The bike is on order, but I do still have the option to cancel as no money has yet been handed over.

I'm trying to understand the repercussions of this new 'BOOST system' and how it will affect future replacement parts etc that I might need? The reason this is relevant to me is because my new bike is a considerable investment which I'm not planning to keep swapping (hoping to last 10 years!). So basically I just want to know should I wait to see what happens with the new BOOST system, or am I going to be stuck with a bike which I may be forced to swap because I can no longer get reasonably priced parts? This is my big concern.

Hope you can help!

Comments

• The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    SRAM call it a technology (clearly they don't own a dictionary), it's just wider hubs (and associated parts to make it work), but until you are spending a LOT of money and have a frame that is compatable (which won't be in cheaper bikes) I wouldn't worry about it overly. What have you ordered and have you found a 'BOOST' bike at anywhere near the same price?
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • Thanks - I've ordered a Rose Root Miller (spec is simply unbeatably for the money - even compared to Canyon etc). Cost over £2k which for me is a ridiculous sum to pay for a bike - hence the concern - but I've been caught by the MTB bug which has removed my senses and better judgement! :)