Cycle cross bike for 4 day road ride.

nobby2607
nobby2607 Posts: 41
edited March 2015 in Road beginners
Hi,
I have signed up to do a ride in the summer from Brussels to Paris over 4 days riding (320miles all in I think).
Question I have is wether the bike I'm on will be ok for me doing it. I'm very new to road riding coming from more mountain biking. I have a Giant TCX SLR2 it's a cycle cross bike and I feel very comfortable on it while I have been out training on it, but I have never rode a full on road bike.
The tyres were changed out recently from the very knobbly schwalbe tyres that were on it to the Conti gator skins.
The gearing is shimano 105 20 speed with an 11 - 28 cassette and 36/ 46 front rings.
I know that with the frame being aluminium and being made for cycle cross it'll be heavier than a road bike, and the geometry will be slightly different, just not sure how that will affect the riding. Also the brakes, it has mechanical disc brakes that to be honest I quite like the feel of and stop me dead on, but what would these be like on a big ride like that?

Just very green with road riding.

Suppose what I am asking if the bike I am on will be suitable or am I going to have to fork out for another bike? That's a conversation I'd rather not be having with the missus, just bought a £2500 mountain bike last summer.

Also if there is anything I could change out on the bike to make it more suitable for the road?

Comments

• g00se
    g00se Posts: 2,221
    It'll be fine as long as you have slicks. You may want to swap the 46 big ring for a 50 or 52 for the downhills.
  • cougie
    cougie Posts: 22,512
    Cyclocross bike with those tyres will be just fine. All you need to do is build up your distances.

Sadly no real need to buy another bike.
  • it will be almost as good as a similar priced road bike. you will not notice much difference. The gears will be fine unless you want to pedal above 34 MPH a lot.
  • nobby2607
    Thanks for that.