Upgrade or new bike

markiegrim
markiegrim Posts: 136
edited March 2015 in Road beginners
Hi
I have a Trek 1.5 which cost £700 2 years ago. Its been great, but now thinking of upgrades. Thinking upgrades may be better value than buying a new bike at some point in the possible far distant future when I have a spare ca. £1200-1400.

Trek 1.5 currently has Alpha 100 al frame and Tiagra

On Wiggle can get 105 Group set for £300 and Zonda wheelset for £400

So £700 to upgrade both wheels and Groupset, vs say, £1200-1400 for a new bike

Any thoughts? Is £400 on a wheelset really going to gain me much over the stock Bontrager wheels? Also upgrading means I would still be stuck with the alpha 100 frame - is that so bad?

Thanks

MArkie

Comments

• ForumNewbie
    ForumNewbie Posts: 1,664
    I'm no expert but an upgrade sounds better, as you would maybe not get the wheelset you want on a new bike in the £1200 to £1400 range. You could always upgrade to a better frame later if you want to.
  • What do you perceive to be the shortcomings of what you have?
  • markiegrim
    markiegrim Posts: 136
    What do you perceive to be the shortcomings of what you have?
    I don't perceive any shortcomings...not sure I said as much. Just wanted advice on the upgrade v new bike question. Something I may wish to do in the coming year or two
  • I ask because upgrades are ultimately based on just that; excepting the fact that you can always spend a bit more, and usually you get what you pay for.

But ultimately the bicycle is a composite. Wheels and components swap around. Buying second hand can give you much better value for money, but that also extends to complete bikes - you may get more for your money by buying a complete bike, but you have a choice between good old (and depreciated), and paying full value.