Stick to 26 or go 29?

Kevancycle
Kevancycle Posts: 3
edited March 2015 in MTB buying advice
Hello everyone,

I currently own a 26" aluminum XC HT which weights around 10.5kg (23,1lbs). I use it mostly for training but also race on it in XCO events, around 10-15 races per year. I am not a pro (obviously :P) but I take my training and races seriously and place between 1st and 6th in my category, depending on the course. My free time is limited, therefore, I do not have the luxury of spending additional time on training.
In the next few months I am thinking of an upgrade but I do not know which way to go... I really like my 26", the way I can throw it around in trails, thus, I have only tried a 29" twice but they both were lower end bikes and I didn't like the way they handled nor could I sense a better roll over obstacles.
So now I am in a dilemma. My 2 options would be:
A) Get a Scott Scale SL 26" frame and change some other components like saddle, pedals etc to get the weight down to 9kg (19.8lbs), which would cost me around 1.500€ and in the future invest in a xx1 groupset which would lower the weight to around 8.4kg (18,5lbs) or
B) Wait a little longer and save up to get a Cube Elite C68 Pro 29" which costs 3.000€ and weights 9.8kg (21.6lbs) and invest on that in the future?

Would a 9.8kg 29" be faster than a 8.4kg 26"?
I'd really appreciate it if mostly XC Racers would answer my questions.

Thank you in advance!

Comments

• The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    edited February 2015
    Njee is probably best placed to answer your questions having just swapped a 26" (FS but lightweight) for a 29" HT.

As for which would be faster, well that depends on the course to an extent, but all the data I've seen suggests a 29er would still be faster as the quicker roll would upset the circa 2% increase in total weight.