tyres

bazasln
bazasln Posts: 3
edited March 2015 in Road beginners
i am very new to cycling, i would like to know which tyres are the the best for road use is it gatorskins or gp 4000s

Comments

• DKay
    DKay Posts: 1,652
    Too general a question to answer. 'Which tyres are best' is asked at least twice a week and everyone has their own personal favourite. What's your milage, what do you want from your tyres, how much do you weigh, etc, etc. Look around on the forum and do some research and you will find.

Welcome btw. :)
  • kenong
    kenong Posts: 21
    Between the 2 you mentioned, the GP4kS II
  • olake92
    olake92 Posts: 182
    I currently use neither of the two you mentioned, but have in the past. That said, GP4000s over gatorskins. Gators are like riding on ice.
    I'm on Twitter! Follow @olake92 for updates on my racing, my team's performance and some generic tweets.
  • ForumNewbie
    ForumNewbie Posts: 1,664
    I prefer Gatorskins.
  • You've asked a very broad question, and there's much more to tyres than those two. Gatorskins are pretty cheap, very long lasting, very tough, and for a tyre that provides the aforementioned, at the lighter end. The price you pay is that they're rock hard and aren't very grippy. A good choice for training and commuting.
  • BrandonA
    BrandonA Posts: 553
    How would you define best?

Colour/style? Price? Weight? Rolling resistance? How long they last? Some other means?
  • ForumNewbie
    ForumNewbie Posts: 1,664
    I have used Gatorskins on my steel Audax bike for the last few years and they have been great. I also have a Specilialized Sirrus hybrid bike, which had 28 mm Specialized tyres on until yesterday when I changed them for new 25 mm folding Gatorskins. Each tyre is over 100 grams lighter than the Specialized ones. I had a 20 mile ride on the Sirrus yesterday with the Gatorskins on and they definitely roll much better than the Specialized tyres.