MTB and Road SPD difference

The secret rider
The secret rider Posts: 812
edited April 2015 in Road beginners
Hi whats the difference between the MTB clips i use on my mtb and also on my road bike to those that are road specific ?

Im new to cycling currently using MTB shoes and pedals.

Is it worth getting some road specific ones ?

Comments

• wongataa
    wongataa Posts: 1,001
    The road ones have a wide platform and are harder to walk in. The cleats also wear out more quickly. There is nothing wrong with using your current pedals if you have no problems with them.
  • The road specific ones have a harder sole and a bigger contact area. Very slightly more efficient very slightly. The price you pay is them being extra hard to walk in.

I like many of my friends use SPD MTB type on my road bike.
  • thats fantastic news ! I don't need to spend heaps of money.

Brilliant guys thanks very much.
  • Very slightly more efficient very slightly.

Not this this nonsense again. I don't suppose you've found some evidence to support it since the last time we discussed this?

SPD is just made to a constraint: the cleat needs to be able to recess into the sole of the shoe. Consequently, it's a bit smaller, and some such shoes are made with flexible(ish) soles. There is no such thing as a comfortable walking shoe with a big cleat sticking out, is there?

They're still rock solid. The same top riders we mention every time this comes up have used them in competition. Do you really think Wilko is enough of an idiot to use pedals that cost him efficiency on the type of events he does? I have and like both systems. (Also have Look)
  • ForumNewbie
    ForumNewbie Posts: 1,664
    The other benefit I find using MTB SPDs as opposed to 'road' SPD-SLs is that MTB are double-sided, so I've no plans to move to SPD-SLs.
  • holiver
    holiver Posts: 729
    I use the SPD system on both road and mountain bikes. No complaints here.