Improving endurance on medium climbs.

The secret rider
The secret rider Posts: 812
edited March 2015 in Road beginners
I'm new to road riding and come from MTB

Ive noticed and other have commented I have good power climbing where the climb is >1min lets say however over this i struggle.

I don't bolt up the hills like I do when sprinting up the >1min ones i try and pace myself but still i find i dont have the endurance to keep any sort of pace.

I dont have issues with breathing or getting air so I think at least for what i have tackled so far cardio vascular fitness is ok but rather my legs seems to give up.

Any thoughts on how i can train for these hills to allow me to keep my average pace up.

cheers.

Comments

• Keep at it is the obvious answer!

Keep testing yourself on a local hill with a strava segment, preferably with a mix of gradients. Experiment while you are finding what the best way is for you personally to climb. Try higher cadence with an easier gear, try the opposite of that. Try climbing in and out of the saddle over different gradients.

You will eventually find out what works for you and improve as you go.
  • JayKosta
    JayKosta Posts: 635
    but still i find i dont have the endurance to keep any sort of pace.
    cardio vascular fitness is ok but rather my legs seems to give up.

I think this means your cardio vascular fitness needs training for longer duration situations.

You probably have plenty of 'leg strength' for short time periods, but you need to improve (by more endurance riding) the blood flow for your muscles - to provide long term 'fuel' and to remove lactic acid, etc.

Jay Kosta
    Endwell NY USA
  • kajjal
    kajjal Posts: 3,380