Power Question

Goldcol76
Goldcol76 Posts: 12
Hi there,

I have been cycling for a few years now and have started to train harder following Strava training. Could someone tell me if averaging 281 watts for 40 minutes is any good. I am a larger frame weighing 190 pounds. I know these cat racers get crazy wattage readings but I am wondering if this is ok.

The main reason for the Q is I have pondered over joining my local cycle club but worry about keeping up, I am sure it a whole different level. Just weighing it all up.

Thanks in advance

Col

Comments

• slowbike
    slowbike Posts: 8,498
    yup - it's fine.... I wouldn't join the crazy cat racers though ...

As for keeping up with the local cycle club - find out what rider groups they do, start in the bottom one (unless that's a kiddies learn to ride around the park group) and work up - there's more to group riding than going at speed - you need to learn how to ride closely to another rider, follow and pass on hand signals etc etc - far better to do that at a slow pace than one haring around with everyone relying on you to get it right.
  • Calpol
    Calpol Posts: 1,039
    How are you measuring power?
    Power meter? or virtual power ?
    281W seems pretty respectable and is equal to 3.2 W/kg. I doubt you'll have too many problems keeping up with that sort of ratio - unless is a big club and you want to ride with the fast group. I'd say go along and ride - forget about the numbers and focus on making some mates that you can ride with.
  • Grill
    Grill Posts: 5,610
    If that number is Strava virtual power and not from an actual PM then it means absolutely nothing.
    English Cycles V3 | Cervelo P5 | Cervelo T4 | Trek Domane Koppenberg
  • Grill wrote:
    If that number is Strava virtual power and not from an actual PM then it means absolutely nothing.

Best wait for the OP to confirm before any more replies......
    I'm sorry you don't believe in miracles
  • Hi,