Tiddly hill repeats

JoeLiam
JoeLiam Posts: 17
edited March 2015 in Road beginners
Hi all, Noob here. Pretty new to road cycling, took it up as a way of trying to defeat the ever expanding waistline. Seem to have varying success. :lol:
Anyway, my question is, I'm not a fan of hills of any kind, and living on the Welsh borders this is a slight problem. One disadvantage of living in the sticks is zero street lights and crappy road surfaces. Due to this I'm limited to what I can do in evenings to get some saddle time (tried the turbo, we don't get on) and I'm still not fully confident to strap some lights on and MTFU.
Close to me is a slight rise of approx. 60ft in 200 yds ( and is nicely lit by a neighbours security light). Is there any point or gain in going up and down this bump as a means of getting some saddle time and slopes into the legs ? :?:

Comments

• markhewitt1978
    markhewitt1978 Posts: 7,614
    edited February 2015
    Yeah why not, any riding is decent, it won't get you a massive benefit but it's all pedalling.

Try tackling it in a variety of gears, some far too lows so you're spinning your legs off, then far too high so you're standing.

It'll be light before too long anyway. But watch out for your neighbour complaining about their electricity bill!
  • bianchimoon
    bianchimoon Posts: 3,942
    Yeah why not, any riding is decent, it won't get you a massive benefit but it's all pedalling.

Try tackling it in a variety of gears, some far too lows so you're spinning your legs off, then far too high so you're standing.
    This^, anytime on the bike is better than none if you get your heart rate up. Lights are so good these days and relatively cheap make the effort and get out in the dark it can be safest time to ride in rural areas
    All lies and jest..still a man hears what he wants to hear and disregards the rest....
  • jgsi
    jgsi Posts: 5,062