Almost zero-L2P, advice required

graemevet
graemevet Posts: 61
I'm doing the L2P in 20 weeks time, training has started in earnest. Looking at 100k/day for 4 days.

I started riding last April from a fitness base of zero. Commuting 10k each way 2-3 times a week plus rides on Sat / Sunday of 1-3 hours. Fitness and weight improved rapidly (12kg loss).

I'm following this plan
https://www.bhf.org.uk/~/media/files/events/training-plans/cycling-training-plans/cyclingintermediatetrainingplan.pdf

Any ideas how I can build my commute into the plan? Intervals? If I ride into work in zone 1 does that count as rest?

After the first 10 weeks of the plan I'm aiming to move on to the advanced plan. The Mrs is starting on the beginners and moving on to the intermediate but thats a whole other story....

Any other top tips for beating myself into shape?

Comments

• You don't give an awful lot of information about your current fitness levels, whether you are still looking to lose weight etc. but I would say in your position, doing any kind of interval training is completely pointless. It might increase your peak power output, but it's going to do very little for your endurance over multiple hours in the saddle.

If you were looking into racing crits then intervals might be useful, but the L2P is essentially back-to-back long group rides, so that's what you should be focusing your training on. The commute is good to keep things ticking over in the week but I'm guessing your weekend rides of 1-3 hours aren't getting close to 100 km at the moment, so you should be focusing on getting regular (i.e. weekly) rides up to and over that distance before the trip.

If that doesn't convince you, then have a read of these articles. You don't need a power meter to apply what they're saying, essentially that slow steady riding has many physiological benefits, but intervals a few very specific ones.

http://home.trainingpeaks.com/blog/arti ... e-athletes