Advice on increasing distance?

nicube
nicube Posts: 175
edited February 2015 in Road beginners
Hi, I'm quite new to road cycling, since August 2014, I've cycled for years but commuting on an MTB. Now I'm getting right into road cycling I want to increase my distances, even in the current climate I'm getting out for an hour and doing a route that's 16 miles a couple of times a week, my commute is only 7 miles return and I want to regularly do 30 miles plus, the most I've done so far is 24 miles in 90 minutes but I was shattered ( and both my elbows hurt for some reason) what's the best advice you can give for fueling a ride, sweets or gels or something and anything I might have overlooked?

I hope this makes sense? :)

Thanks in advance
LOOK 795 Aerolight Dura ace Di2
LOOK 675 Dura ace mechanical
LOOK 595 105
Cinelli Zydeco

Comments

• Just build the miles. As for eating, you probably don't need to worry about it too much under a couple of hours during the ride itself. But if you feel hungry a banana s great - eat a bit at a time. Or, frankly, anything that you like. Once you start to do even longer rides, then it makes sense to focus a little more on what you are eating.

The elbows thing might be the fit of the bike (too stretched out or whatever). It might just be that you aren't used to it.

Ultimately, nothing beats hours in the saddle. Don't worry about speed for now and certainly don't push too hard at the start. And friends says a minute at the start is worth 3 minutes at the end - he's spot-on
    ROAD < Scott Foil HMX Di2, Volagi Liscio Di2, Jamis Renegade Elite Di2, Cube Reaction Race > ROUGH
  • nicube
    Thanks for that. I always seem to average 16mph no matter where I go, it is quite hilly up here, is that a fair average speed to begin with?
    LOOK 595 105
    Cinelli Zydeco