Hill training in and around Ipswich!

Yost
Yost Posts: 56
edited February 2015 in Road beginners
I have got a place at Ride London in August and aside from the logistics of getting from the finish line back to Stratford, my main worry is that I have no experience of big hills. I live in Kesgrave (Ipswich) and there are not many hills in the area than I am aware of. However, maybe someone knows otherwise and can point me in the right direction? There are some steep hills around but they do not stay steep for long - is it worth practising going up and down these?

I know that the more experienced of you will say that the Ride London hills are nothing to worry about, but it would be good to have a rough idea what I am letting myself in for before August.

It is not really feasible for me to trek across to Surrey to practise either, in case someone has that suggestion.

Cheers in advance.

Comments

• mikpem
    mikpem Posts: 139
    I've only recently started cycling distance in preparation for the tour of Cambridge in June and I am also Ipswich based. I haven't been many different routes around here but heading north to Lowestoft I found it felt pretty flat. Heading south towards Maldon and through the Essex countryside had a few more hills. I'll be going out that way again in a couple of weeks if you fancy a ride, I'm thinking I might try for 60 miles ish but I'm flexible on both mileage and day that week because the OH and little one are away for the weekend.
    I do tend to get lost though, thank got for maps on my phone.
  • rick_chasey
    rick_chasey Posts: 72,612
    Welcome to the forum.

I grew up cycling in the fens in Cambridge and now cycle the the hills in Surrey more or less every weekend, only after a few years cycling in Sheffield ;).

Firstly, the hills aren't big in Surrey.