How much turbo is too much turbo?

Spooked
Spooked Posts: 90
edited February 2015 in Training, fitness and health
Hi guys,

I have recently got a road bike after a fairly long lay off from cycling. I'm vaguely fit and am 6ft and weigh 12 Stoneish.

While the weather is a bit rubbish in the evening I have been on the Turbo doing intervals over a 30 minute period one day followed by an hour easy pedalling the following day.

I've been doing this five days straight now and am feeling great.

Would you say this is too much? I realise I need to rest for the body to heal and recover but am really enjoying it and also the improvements I'm seeing (slight double chin has dissapeared ;) )

How many days consecutively would you ride/turbo and when would you have a rest day? Or do I need a rest day?

I clearly have issues as I'm really enjoying the turbo and the pain :D

Thanks for any advice. I'm new to this training malarkey. I'm doing a sportive in five or so weeks time for the first time so want to enjoy it rather than be knackered after the first few miles.

Comments

• That's much at all, if you're feeling good keep doing it. But throwing in a rest day or an easy day won't hurt.
  • Bar Shaker
    Bar Shaker Posts: 2,313
    Provided your intermediate days are relaxed, I don't see a problem with this. If anything, try to up your interval nights to an hour too.

If you wear a HR monitor, I would try and keep your intermediate rides in your Zone 2 so you are barely working your legs but are working your CV system.

The problem comes if you are giving it everything, every day. Your muscles never get to repair and you are training whilst tired, so are constantly working below your maximum potential. This is what people call 'wasted' or 'junk' miles.
    Boardman Elite SLR 9.2S
    Boardman FS Pro
  • ai_1
    ai_1 Posts: 3,060