Newbie climbing gearing/cadence question

Markymark15
Markymark15 Posts: 2
edited March 2015 in Road beginners
Hi all, first time poster.

I'm a newbie having taken up cycling about 6 months ago to hopefully help shift a significant portion of my 16 stone frame!

I feel I'm making pretty good progress, gradually increasing my miles and average speeds but I find that I really struggle when it comes to climbing. On a gradient of anything over 8% I find that I really grind it out. Even in my lowest gear (34x28 I think!) I struggle to do anything much over 60rpm (and go massively into the red in any higher gear). It's not so much that I can't keep the effort up because I find I can grind it out for 30-40 mins but it's just really painfully slow (approx 6mph)! I consciously focus on my cadence on the flat and during turbo trainer sessions to try and keep it over 80rpm but haven't seen the crossover to climbing cadence yet.

So I guess what I'm asking is what is the best way to increase my climbing speed:
- is it just a case of keep going and as my weight decreases and my fitness increases then I'll naturally speed up? (I guess I worry that if I train slow then I'll always be slow!)
- should I work on a higher cadence while climbing, even if I can only keep it up for short periods and need to stop (I.e almost like intervals going uphill)?
- I don't thing getting a lower gearing set up is the answer but should that be something to consider?
- something else entirely!

Sorry if I've missed out any pertinent information!

Thanks in advance

Mark

Comments

• kajjal
    kajjal Posts: 3,380
    Climbing is a combination of fitness, technique, experience and gearing.

A 34x28 should get you up most hills but double check that is what you have. I am about the same weight in the winter and around 15 stone in the summer. Due to wearing extra layers, wind, wet roads and general cold it is a lot harder going in the winter. Keep it going and come the summer you will be a lot faster.