rollers vs turbo

chrisjohnsen
chrisjohnsen Posts: 40
edited January 2015 in Road beginners
Hi, I am new to rollers and was wondering if anyone had any tips to which once to buy. I hav been looking at the Elite Arion Mag http://www.wiggle.co.uk/elite-arion-mag-parabolic-resistance-rollers/. Anyone have any experience with it? Also wondering about the general benefits of rollers vs turbo. And the noise level of rollers, is it generaly louder than a turbo, dont want to disturb the neighbours more than I already do.

Thanks for any tips,

Chris

Comments

• jgsi
    jgsi Posts: 5,062
    Rollers - quieter in my case - Standard Arions vs Satori
  • Bobbinogs
    Bobbinogs Posts: 4,841
    Yep, rollers generally tend to be quieter. Each though have other pros and cons, turbos are better for fettling/bike stand type work and are slightly better for HIT intervals (as you can really forget about bike handling)...then again rollers are much more interactive as you need to concentrate and ride your bike rather than just sitting there spinning your legs...although folks who fall off rollers might think that is a disadvantage :)

Turbos are better than standard rollers for hill training, etc., because of the variable resistance but some modern rollers allow that now (haven't tried them myself though).
  • They both have their respective merits and pitfalls. If I had to choose one for the sole purpose of getting as fit and as fast as possible I'd go for a turbo trainer (although a set of rollers with resistance might be better, never tried any).

A few thoughts on the matter here: Indoor Training: Turbo vs Rollers
  • Freeza
    Freeza Posts: 128
    Resistance rollers with fork stand. Extremely versatile, this setup can do everything a turbo can do and more. I've recently sold my turbo as a result and wont be going back any time soon.

Resistance rollers

Fork stand