Genuine Advice Needed

Jonathan13
Jonathan13 Posts: 2
edited January 2015 in Road beginners
Dear All,

As a complete novice, I've spent time on the internet and pinned down to only three bikes matching my budget as listed below.

http://www.jejamescycles.co.uk/claud-bu ... 77205.html
http://www.wiggle.co.uk/felt-z95-sora-2014/
http://www.wiggle.co.uk/avanti-giro-2-sora-2014/

I'm planning to do some long distance cycling, not knowing much about Gearing an any further details could anyone please provide some advice on the first time purchase?

To teach a man to fish, what exactly should I be looking out when deciding?

Much appreciated and have a good weekend.

Comments

• kajjal
    kajjal Posts: 3,380
    I would try and test ride the bikes if possible. A bike you like the look and ride of is more likely to get ridden. On a test ride you are really just making sure the bike seems to fit you OK. A slightly too small bike is no problem and easily sorted, a bike that is too big leaves you with nowhere to go.

When it comes to gearing the second two bikes you list have easier gears and the first is more for fitter faster riders. The Felt seems the best beginner bike due to the 12-32 gearing and is well priced for what you get.
  • fludey
    fludey Posts: 384
    I can only comment on the felt as I had one similar but next model up on 105...I would be still riding it today if I hadn't damaged the frame it was a very good bike..good level of kit and we'll set up from Wiggle. Even now I'm still using all the parts from it on a Plant X carbon frame..and still have my felt ar4...so you wouldn't go far wrong with the Felt.
    Felt AR4
    Planet X Pro Carbon 105
    MTB Kona Kikapu Deluxe with a few upgrades!!
  • ForumNewbie
    ForumNewbie Posts: 1,664