What do you carry with you on every ride?

gcwebbyuk
gcwebbyuk Posts: 1,926
edited February 2015 in Road beginners
I'm new to road riding, having ridden an MTB in the past, and so I have been used to either carrying a ruck sack or stuffing a saddle bag full of kit/tools etc.

What is the bare minimum that you would take on a 2-3 hour ride?

I'm guessing:
1-2 spare tubes
puncture kit
levers
multi-tool
CO2/pump

Have I missed anything?

Comments

• Tjgoodhew
    Tjgoodhew Posts: 628
    On top of that:

Some food or a gel. 9/10 times it comes back with me uneaten but you never know when the hunger knock will get you.
    Some cash for emergencies
    ID
    Cannondale Caad8
    Canyon Aeroad 8.0

http://www.strava.com/athletes/goodhewt
  • gcwebbyuk
    Ah yes, I forgot food - but that would go in my Tri-Bag I have on the top tube, along with phone and wallet. Was more thinking of tools/emergency kit etc.
  • JackPozzi
    JackPozzi Posts: 1,191
    Chain link tool (if there's not one on the multi-tool) - Lesson learnt after an unfortunate incident some years back
  • lostboysaint
    lostboysaint Posts: 4,250
    gcwebbyuk wrote:
    Ah yes, I forgot food - but that would go in my Tri-Bag I have on the top tube, along with phone and wallet. Was more thinking of tools/emergency kit etc.

You riding a tourer? The list of stuff you need (which is yours + an energy bar/food, a £10 or £20 note and your phone) can all go in your jersey pockets or in a decent undersaddle bag.
    Trail fun - Transition Bandit
    Road - Wilier Izoard Centaur/Cube Agree C62 Disc
    Allround - Cotic Solaris
  • lostboysaint
    lostboysaint Posts: 4,250
    That's the cycling equivalent of a man-bag! Just get the stuff in your jersey pockets!
    Trail fun - Transition Bandit
    Road - Wilier Izoard Centaur/Cube Agree C62 Disc
    Allround - Cotic Solaris
  • gcwebbyuk
    Oh, I have one of them too ;)