Getting into shop/club rides (UPDATE bottom of pg 2)

italianstallion
italianstallion Posts: 17
edited January 2015 in Road beginners
So I've been cycling for a couple of months now. My typical dedicated 'training' rides are in the 50-55 mile range with an average speed of around 18mph +/- 1mph. When I go on these rides I stop once around that 25 mile mark to refuel and then I get right back to it. I can do a pretty good job of pushing myself even towards the end; I usually take the last 5 miles sprinting as hard as I can, maintaining around 22 mph on the flats during this stretch of time.

So when I'm out driving on the weekends I see alot of group rides. I don't know anybody in my cycling community but a group ride looks like a fun idea to train with other people and make new friends. But I'm a little nervous about the etiquette and what group pace I should join up with.

This Saturday there's a 40 mile group ride with 4 groups: 25+ mph, 23+ mph, 20+ mph, and 18+ mph. The 18mph group is a no-drop group with one stop halfway through. I've been doing some reading up on group rides and etiquette and I'm thinking of starting with the 18mph ride and seeing how it goes before moving up. I don't want to get in anybody's way or bite off more than I can chew. Any advice?

Comments

• bondurant
    bondurant Posts: 858
    Is that a pro team group ride? Those speeds are remarkably fast.
  • bondurant
    More usefully, you sound like you'd be more than quick enough for normal club or shop rides, so then it becomes a matter of finding one that suits and, as you say, seeing how it goes.
  • cougie
    cougie Posts: 22,512
    I think starting off with the slowest run makes a lot of sense. You want to be doing some chatting - and whilst it sounds like your speed would take you up to the 23mph run - but you'd probably be pushing it a lot.

If the easier one is too easy - then just try the next one up etc etc.