Journeys outs of my "comfort zone"

BlueTaylor
BlueTaylor Posts: 43
edited January 2015 in Road beginners
Hello

I'm pretty new to road biking. Got my self a crappy road bike tbh to see if I would enjoy it and I do. I plan on spending Bit of money on a new road bike for my birthday around March time. Anyways on my crapy bike I tend to do trips that I know i.e. To work, to my mum and dad, to my GFs. However I want to get out of my "comfort zone" riding and go further a field maybe like a trip to Blakpool (live in Manchester) the problem is though I wouldn't have a clue on which way to go :? Or where to go :? Can you get some sort of like sat nav for bikes? A downloadable app maybe?

Sorry if I sound stupid

Comments

• ForumNewbie
    ForumNewbie Posts: 1,664
    Try and look at some maps. Explorer maps are quite good or look at google maps online and work out a few routes. Sat Navs for bikes are quite expensive like Garmin 800s and have varying reviews. I have a normal Garmin GPS, like many others, and go long distances at times but don't feel I need the sat nav function.
  • Peddle Up!
    Peddle Up! Posts: 2,040
    Yes, the bike specific "sat navs" can be expensive, but ultimately are worth it for battery life, ruggedness etc.. As a workable alternative, if you have a smartphone there are loads of navigation apps most of which will let you plot out a route on a PC or laptop, then transfer it to the phone. If you take one of the small back-up power supplies with you, you shouldn't get lost. :)
    Purveyor of "up" :)
  • slowmart
    slowmart Posts: 4,474
    Have a look for a local cycling club and join a couple of runs with them as they will know the best cycling routes, put a cafe stop in and ensure you make it back in one piece.
    “Give a man a fish and feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish and feed him for a lifetime. Teach a man to cycle and he will realize fishing is stupid and boring”

Desmond Tutu
  • tmg
    tmg Posts: 651