training plan

chrisjohnsen
chrisjohnsen Posts: 40
edited January 2015 in Road beginners
Hi, I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions for a training plan.
I have been riding for 3 years, doing about 4000 km last season, but without any structure or plan.
This has worked out OK, but because of family, school and work I see that I need to structure the traing more for next season. Since my time is limited i can only manage between 2-4 rides per week.
What should be the main focus of the training? And if I have to drop one workout, which one is the least important?
I have no goals of doing sportifs or other competitions, but I enjoy cycling as a traing form and see it as a great way to stay fit. But, I hope to improve my riding and form this year.

Thanks in advance for any tips,

best Chris.

Comments

• Bobbinogs
    Bobbinogs Posts: 4,841
    Most training plans are built around what your objectives are. Since you don't appear to have any objectives then it is a bit tricky! So, if you want to generally go a bit faster/further/climb then just ride. I know that sounds a bit tongue in cheek but it is not meant to be. Personally, I don't train as such but I do a variety of rides (long/short/hilly/flat) and I ride them at a variety of effort (hard/easy/medium), seems to work for me.

I would recommend things like Sufferfest on the turbo (or interval sessions on the road but they are a bit harder to do properly)...but not that often, once a week at most. Then, mix with 1 long ride per week, and one easy ride. Then do a ride every now and then that pushes you completely (maybe an audax of 200k, sportive of 100 miles, etc.).

There are training plans on the web, look up BHF, etc., but they generally aim towards the typical sportive. For example:

http://www.doitforcharity.com/cycling-t ... guide.aspx