Yorkshire wet weather options?

ben@31
ben@31 Posts: 2,327
edited January 2015 in Routes
Hi,

I'm new to mtb and based in Leeds. So my knowledge of nearby trails is still slim. Can anyone in the Yorkshire area recommend any trails that will be rideable with the recent wet weather, please? Such as gravel tracks.

I tried bridleways / footpaths east of Harewood the other day but the farmland was so wet and muddy in places it was like a photo of the Somme battlefield. The mud was too soft to ride and it was clogging up the bike to the point where the rear derailleur / shifter stopped functioning properly. The best bit was surviving.

Whats Nidderdale like? Is it do-able when wet?

Thanks.
"The Prince of Wales is now the King of France" - Calton Kirby

Comments

• bob6397
    bob6397 Posts: 218
    Everywhere in yorkshire is similar at the moment - i prob wouldn't recommend going to the bottom of a hill to start though (ie in a dale :) ). I'm over in Ripon (other side of harrogate to you) and it's just the same. stick to rockier routes...
    My advice would be to let some pressure out of your tyres (if they're wider eg. 2.1 inches +) or add pressure (if they're thinner - eg mud tyres / 2.1 inches or less).

Failing that change to some grippier compound tyres/mud tyres and/or harden up ;)

I'm still on my Conti Mountain Kings - 2.2 inches and a cheap compound - if the mud's deep i run them at about 30+ psi, if it's icy i run them at about 20-25. Depends on the conditions :)

bob6397
    Boardman HT Team - Hardtail
    Rose Pro-SL 2000 - Roadie
  • robertpb
    robertpb Posts: 1,866
    I'm running my MKs at 21 front and 24 rear at the moment, more flex in the tyre keeps them clean.

I run my various mud tyres at the same pressures unless the ground is a bit more solid.

I try to ride every puddle I can find to stop the bike clogging up with mud, it's suprising what a difference it makes.
    Now where's that "Get Out of Crash Free Card"
  • lg18
    lg18 Posts: 92