Shimano Dura Ace 9000 C24 Wheelset and Sora groupset

dmax26
dmax26 Posts: 35
edited January 2015 in Road beginners
Hi Everyone!

Newbie here, though i have been fairly new to cycling, Id like to ask to a Dura Ace 9000 C24 wheelset clincher would fit a Sora groupset which i have currently on my Scott CR1 30? ( I do have plans in investing to a better groupset later on as my skill and technique progress.

Thanks,

Marvin

Comments

• Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    Yes. Only caveat is the freehub being compatible with the sora 9 speed which i would be surprised if it isnt with the use of a spacer
  • Bobbinogs
    Bobbinogs Posts: 4,841
    If you are fairly new to cycling, what are you hoping to gain by sticking such an expensive wheelset on your bike? Common sense would say that, if your current wheels are ok, then ride your bike until springtime and then buy some wheels that help you in some way relevant then, although just some summer tyres can bring excellent improvements for a fraction of the price if your stock wheels are ok.

The best gains at this time of year are usually achieved through steady training (with decent winter wear for when it is safe or turbo/rollers for when it isn't).
  • dmax26
    Thanks for the reply guys, though yes im fairly new to cycling , i plan to purchase the dura ace wheelset to get the bike ready in the future for an 11 speed groupset, Im running on a Syncros 27 Aero profile, working great dont get me wrong, but its only limited to a 10 speed .
  • Bobbinogs
    Bobbinogs Posts: 4,841
    I am all for the concept of more gears but dropping a large amount of cash on some wheels just in readiness to drop another huge amount on cash on a groupset to achieve...going from 9 to 11 gears may just be spending a lot for not a lot. Some folks are happy to do that, as with most things in life.