Help with buying a new bike XC or Trail

mark_fogel
mark_fogel Posts: 158
edited December 2014 in MTB buying advice
Hello guys,

I am fairly new to MTB and recently started riding blue and red trails in the Forest of Dean and Ashton Court and Lea Woods near Bristol. I currently own a Voodoo Bantu the one with the Raidon fork and I find the bike ok for most things however it is a bit heavy and can get quite bumpy downhill I also find that my palms get quite sore 20 min into the rides. The Raidon fork is great taking bigger hits however doesn't seem to absorb the smaller bumps etc. So I have been looking around for a new bike and quite tempted by the full suspension idea - Chain Reaction currently have a great deal on Sunn Shamann S2 at £719.99 and the spec it seems like a very good deal. My question this bike is advertised as XC, how would it handle on the rougher trails? I am 6 foot tall and 13.5 stone, I am not sure if the frame will be strong enough to support my weight in the long run...

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/sunn ... 9ee258b3e5

Any suggestions are welcome! I have already tried adjusting the fork air pressure however with less pressure it feels a bit weird and doesn't give me the control I need on the more technical stuff.

Thanks!

Comments

• rockmonkeysc
    rockmonkeysc Posts: 14,774
    Ashton Court and FoD blue are far from rough. You won't find a short travel fork which will damp out those small, high frequency bumps unless you're buying a real high end, very well damped fork.
    The Sunn you linked to isn't a worthwhile upgrade from your bike, the frame is no better. Spend a little money on larger volume tyres and carbon bars & foam grips and a carbon seat post. That lot should make a good difference for not a lot of cash.
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    And the Sunns claimed weight is a work of Fiction, not a chance it weighs that.