XC race mtb ...upgrade options to cut weight

Peetz
Peetz Posts: 28
edited June 2015 in MTB general
Hi there
I have been using a xs Sunn prim s2 2011 for a few years and love the bike, very fast and light but have been considering going for a new sub £1000 hardtail through my works cycle to work scheme thingy in the hope I could get an even lighter xc bike ......(I do the odd bit of trail riding on it as well and it holds up fine)
However no matter where I look it is hard for me to beat the spec/weight on my Sunn prim. What I was thinking is that I may be better just getting new wheels and maybe fork for my Sunn and I am sure I could end up with a perfect fitting hardtail which would probably end up alot lighter and higher specced than anything I could find out there for £1000 on the cyclescheme thing.

Here is the spec for my current Sunn prim s2:
• Fork: Rockshox Recon Gold TK SA 100mm
• Brakes: Formula RX 160mm
• Shifters: Sram X7 9 speed
• Cassette: Sram PG 950 11/34
• Front derailleur: Sram X5
• Rear derailleur: Sram X9
• Chinaset: Truvativ Firex 3.2 22/32/44
• Tires: Hutchinson Python AL NG 2.00
• Wheels: Alexrims TD24
• Handlebar: UN Origine 660-20 SL
• Stem: UN Origine SL
• Saddle: SDG I Fly RL CrMo
• Seatpost: UN Origine 350
• Weight: 11 kg
• Geometry given with a travel of: 100
• Seat tube diameter: 27,2
• Seat clamp diameter: 31,8

Aye so......any ideas on how best to trim some weight .....wheels or forks??
If anyone has a sub 11 kg hardtail suggestion (cyclescheme and in 14 in frame) then I am all ears :)

Comments

• rockmonkeysc
    rockmonkeysc Posts: 14,774
    Why not upgrade this bike? I would guess there's well over a kilo you could loose off this one depending on your budget.
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    With that spec I very much doubt your at 11kg I'm afraid, I've seen that before with Sunn bikes, I think they have a whacky standard for weighing them (like no tyres!).