'93 Kona Cinder Cone - upgrading

daviestar
daviestar Posts: 2
edited December 2014 in MTB general
Hi all, I'm new to the forum. I'm not new to cycling, but I'm new to upgrading bike parts :)

I have inherited a beautiful '93 Kona Cinder Cone from my brother, this one:
http://www.retrobike.co.uk/gallery2/v/Manufacturer+Archive/Kona/Catalogues/Kona+Catalogue+1993/8.jpg.html

I'm looking into suspension forks, but I'm unsure if this bike has a 1" or 1 1/8" headset (I know it's threaded). It seems '93 was the year Kona moved to the 1 1/8" standard, so my pre question is: what should I measure to find out?

1. I'm mainly looking to soften the ride, not trail riding forks. What spec will work for this bike? Just any that are threaded?

2. The bike is very light, so I'd like to find some forks which are light too. Any recommendations?

3. Is it possible to upgrade the cantilever brakes? V-brakes or disk brakes. If so, what steps would I need to take / keywords would I need to use when googling.

Thanks!

Comments

• The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    Don't fit suspension forks, the frame isn't designed for them and you'll ruin the geometry and ride. Just get some larger volume tyres on their to add some cushion.

Swapping to disc brakes would be daft, if you want a modern MTB buy one, otherwise revel in what you have.

Best replacement for canti's is mini V-brakes as you can keep the same brake lever, change to V-brakes and you'll need new levers.
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • CitizenLee
    CitizenLee Posts: 2,227
    I don't mean to sound harsh but classic bikes like this should only be restored to the original glory, and then only ridden on sunny, dry weekends. Won't someone think of the Cooldads! :lol:
    Current:
    NukeProof Mega FR 2012
    Cube NuRoad 2018
    Previous: