What do you hate about locking your bike?

tableg
tableg Posts: 2
edited December 2014 in Commuting general
I'm a 3rd year design student, trying to design a better way to store bikes when away from home; so either when you're at work, in town, or simply stopping for a break and have to lock up the bike. It would be great to hear your opinions on both locks and racks, things you hate and things you love. Or even if you just want a good rant about a particular experience. I'll read it all!

Thank you so much :D

Comments

• slowbike
    slowbike Posts: 8,498
    I hate having to lock my bike. Why can't people just leave stuff alone that doesn't belong to them?
  • Something lightweight and easy to carry.

I have a Petzl headtorch where the headband is a wire that retracts into the torch, very clever.

Something unobtrusive like that which you could fix permanently onto your bike would be cool.
  • CitizenLee
    CitizenLee Posts: 2,227
    tableg wrote:
    I'm a 3rd year design student, trying to design a better way to store bikes when away from home; so either when you're at work, in town, or simply stopping for a break and have to lock up the bike. It would be great to hear your opinions on both locks and racks, things you hate and things you love. Or even if you just want a good rant about a particular experience. I'll read it all!

Thank you so much :D

I keep a lock at work and a lock at home as I hate having to carry them and don't like things attached to my bike, but that restricts where I can go on the bike so it would be good if locks came incorporated into inner city bike racks. You could then unlock them via SMS/RFID like the NextBikes in Glasgow (I'm sure Boris Bikes are similar) to avoid the hassle of keys.
    Something lightweight and easy to carry.

I have a Petzl headtorch where the headband is a wire that retracts into the torch, very clever.

Something unobtrusive like that which you could fix permanently onto your bike would be cool.