XC bike struggling with descents...?

neilus
neilus Posts: 245
edited December 2014 in MTB general
Hiya
I'll tra and be brief. I've been riding a 2011 Scott Spark 60 for about 18 months now - http://www.evanscycles.com/products/sco ... e-ec025353
Climbing and fairly level terrain is great, but taking corners while descending is an absolute nightmare. The bike just seems to drift away from underneath me and just refuses to go where i want it to. Typically, as i approach a corner, ill try and pick a line...halfway through the turn, im already way off line and its not uncommon that by the end of the turn ive drifted so far off the trail that i have to break/stop, cursing myself as to why i seem to have forgotten how to ride a f'ing bike. Ive also given up trying to get any air off any small jumps, as it is just impossible to control.
I never experienced any of these issues (cornering/jumping) on my old bike, you probably wont be familiar with it, a Jamis Dakar Sport, unfortunately it was nicked so i cant really compare the two bikes. But I do know that a) the frame was bigger and b) the bars were wider.
Here's my list of possible reasons:
- Wrong size. I got a small which being only 5' 8 and around 70 kg I thought would be ok. Stupidly didnt really check if Scott have any frame size calculator (used the Canyon one last week; recommended a medium)
- Wrong bike. Seems the Spark is a straight xc bike and its struggling with descents. I could definitely use a bit more than the 120mm front travel but im also wondering if the geometry just isnt designed for essentially enduro riding.
- Ive lost my mojo. As mentioned, the bike is dreadfully unstable in the air; resulting in my first serious wipe out, getting airbirne off a wee kicker id done a 100 times on the old bike (and had been getting higher, and more confident every time). It shook me up a bit but ive ridden a lot since then and im nowhere near as nervous as i was immediately after the crash.
So...any thoughts chaps?