Product Development - Project help

GlennB612
GlennB612 Posts: 3
edited November 2014 in MTB general
Hey everyone. I am a Product Design student at De Montfort University in Leicester and keen mountain bike rider!. I am currently working on a sport brief and have chosen to develop a project to aid performance. Finally designing for something I enjoy, and can get my teeth into!.

I have found most riders, myself included choose a 'jack of all trades' tyre pressure when riding as it is an effort to constantly jump off to change, and also no one wants to be 'that guy' who holds the group up. This is a compromise on performance.

I propose a system in which tyre pressure can be remotely adjusted from the handlebars while riding. This will consist of a high pressure chamber that is fed in through the spokes around the wheel and joint at either end with an electronic component that will also connect to the valve. This will act as a two way valve and will be wirelessly linked with the handlebar apparatus.

(Attached is a rough mock up with tubing as to the location of the chamber)

- To work out the volume of the chamber I need to know how many times the tyre pressure is likely to be changed during a ride. Can anyone help with this?
-Also am I right in assuming tyre pressure ranges from around 15psi to 35/40psi?
-Although the tubing have been modelled on my uni beater the system is to be designed more for All-mountain and downhill.

It would be really beneficial to my project if I could get some feedback (the good and the bad, don’t hold back!)
Hope this has been posted in the right forum and I look forward to hearing your ideas.

questions? :)

10815794_10152651410066144_1861805493_n.jpg?oh=0927be50d1d964cd79201b6831186635&oe=547151A8&__gda__=1416711417_2fdd3a4b644f561f7f6bc330ec0486a0

Comments

• CitizenLee
    CitizenLee Posts: 2,227
    Current:
    NukeProof Mega FR 2012
    Cube NuRoad 2018
    Previous: