New Planet X RT-58 frame - bits missing? (Resolved)

CptKernow
CptKernow Posts: 467
edited November 2014 in Workshop
Have almost finished putting together my new Planet X RT-58. I started to do the cabling but something didn't seem right. I've never done internal cabling before so this could be my mistake on my behalf.
Anyway, there appears to be something missing where the cable enters / exits the frame. When I put the cable in the housing is not held in place.

It does look different to other photos, incl Planet X's website (http://www.planetx.co.uk/i/q/FRPXRT58FA ... e-and-fork). I've taken a couple of pics - any comments would be appreciated.
rt-58-2.jpg
Where the rear cable pops out

rt-58-1.jpg
Where the rear cable enters the frame (note the recess is not that deep)

Comments

• Pokerface
    Pokerface Posts: 7,960
    I believe a solid ferrule end just goes onto the end of your outer, and then fed into the entry hole. Same for the exit - solid ferrule end butting up into the exit port.

Sort of like this: P1010707.JPG

The 'thin' end is the liner that goes over the actual cable and inside the outer. The 'solid' ferrule shown should butt up against both the entry and exit port. The ferrule in your pic appears to be open ended and not solid.

Not 100%, but it looks like that's how it should go. If the solid ferrule end doesn't stop at the entry/exit ports, then you definitely have parts missing!
  • CptKernow
    Thanks. Hopefully will be something simple - the frame was an absolute bargain so I'd hate to have to send it back.

What is slightly strange is the openings are different on the other side of the frame. This is the LHS of the downtube:

rt-58-3.jpg
    These fittings seem to have a tiny recess bolt fixing them in place - I don't see where this would go on the other side?!

What would be helpful is if there were instructions anywhere on setting up the cabling for Planet X frames...
  • Pokerface
    CptKernow wrote: