First big fall

budven
budven Posts: 5
edited November 2014 in Road beginners
I started riding seriously this summer. So far I have ridden about 400 miles. The first 200 were on a mountain then I purchased my first road bike. Yesterday I took my first fall. I was turning into a vacant parking lot and hit a patch of loose grave. I went down fast and hard; can't believe how fast it all happened. My bike suffered scratches to the derailer, pedal, and brake/shifter lever. For me; road rash on my calf, hip, and shoulder. A little sore this today but all in all things are fine. I am very thankful for my helmet. It protected my head from a good bashing against the pavement.

Comments

• glad to hear you're ok. these things are inevitable. i did a sportive the other week and my legs kept cramping on the climbs - i went over 4 times!

put it down to experience and just keep an eye out for gravel!
  • smoggysteve
    smoggysteve Posts: 2,909
    But the bike is ok yeh?
  • budven
    But the bike is ok yeh?

Yes the bike is ok. Funny that was my first concern when I fell. :D While the derailer suffered a small blemish, the pedal, and the brake shifter there is not a scratch on the bike frame. I am thankful for that. It was a 25 mile ride I fell at mile 24.
  • Initialised
    Initialised Posts: 3,047
    Get a spare derailer hangar, if you bashed the rear mech you may have weakened it and you don't want that failing on you up a hill in the middle of nowhere.
    I used to just ride my bike to work but now I find myself going out looking for bigger and bigger hills.
  • Get a spare derailer hangar, if you bashed the rear mech you may have weakened it and you don't want that failing on you up a hill in the middle of nowhere.

Indeed, good idea. Also a very effective way to destroy the wheel!
  • budven
    Get a spare derailer hangar, if you bashed the rear mech you may have weakened it and you don't want that failing on you up a hill in the middle of nowhere.