Track Bike - Argon18 Electron, Giant Omnium or Planet X

myth001
myth001 Posts: 3
edited November 2014 in Track
Newbie here, looking to start track riding in a velodrome (to be finished constructing soon, merely a 5 min. ride from my home). Been riding a pro road bike for few years, but need to change gears for winters with the Velo as an option.

So, looking to get my first track bike, 3 have caught my eye (5 actually, but keeping the BMC and Pina out of the equation to save my wallet, and marriage).
Giant Omnium
Argon 18 Electron
Planet X Comp Track

Omnium and Electron are Alum bikes, while the PlanetX CompTrack is carbon. From what I've heard that carbon doesn't make too much of a difference in track. Still, PlanetX does look cool there. Keeping within that budget of $1,300-1,500 eliminate the Pina XTrack, BMC TR02 or PlanetX TOR.

I'm too old to race too much, am 40 now, but I do occasionally venture into competitive road events (maybe 1-2 a year). But I'd like something that I can build endurance as well as compete if/when I want.

I'm a short 5'6" guy that likes compact frames. I have ridden Specialized, Trek and Pinarello, and love Pina the most. Currently ride a Dogma 65.1, and absolutely love the setup. Trek was alright before, but the reach was a bit too much for my short body-build.

So, looking to get opinion to choose between the Omnium, Electron and CompTrack. Any suggestions welcome.

Comments

• Omar Little
    Omar Little Posts: 2,010
    The three of them are decent and will do a good job. Actually i'd say that about most 'proper' track bikes (ie ones that have track geometry rather than aimed for people wanting to ride fixies on the street) . Some might flex a bit if you are sprinter putting out big power in a standing start but other than that they are all pretty good. So choose the one you like the look of and that fits best.