Thumb support

Jafaremraf
Jafaremraf Posts: 26
edited October 2014 in Road beginners
Hi

Im a newbie here and to road biking, having just bought myself a new road bike to try and keep up with the boys :lol: All things considered I'm finding it a comfortable ride, the only thing that troubles me is my left thumb, which is the main braking hand. The pain is in the joint where thumb meets hand and I suspect it is because a few years ago it popped out of it's socket....only very briefly and went straight back in, but it causes pain when it's put under pressure, like when cycling. I do keep moving my hands to ease pressure and I wear padded gloves, but I'm wondering whether a support/brace may help or whether it will just be a hindrance. I'm just wondering if anyone has a similar problem and has gone down the route of wearing a support. Most of the information that I found online specifically for cyclists relates to knee and ankle problems rather than hands.
Thanks
Jane

Comments

• Bobbinogs
    Bobbinogs Posts: 4,841
    Might be worth going to your GP and seeing if an MRI is needed. You might also chat to your GP about the concept of just masking the pain, perhaps with paracetamol, etc.
  • JayKosta
    JayKosta Posts: 635
    Adjust the side-to-side 'tilt' of the brake hoods so your hand fits easily on them.
    Also adjust the forward-backward position of the hoods can help.

Jay Kosta
    Endwell NY USA
  • ben@31
    ben@31 Posts: 2,327
    It could be there's too much height drop from the saddle to the handle bars. Which is causing you to lean forward and down, placing more weight on your wrists.