Hitting a wall

FuManChu
FuManChu Posts: 12
edited October 2014 in Road beginners
I started riding again 2 weeks ago today with a 10 mile ride. I've been out every other day since then increasing it to 12, a couple of 15's, a couple of 20's and then a 30mile ride on Friday just gone.
I had a really busy weekend with the kids so was unable to get out over the weekend other than a quick squirt around town last night.
With a day off work today and a full two days rest I had every intention of doing 40 miles this morning.

I've just been out and turned home after 5 miles. Legs are like bricks and I just couldn't get into a rhythm. I'ts windy as hell out there but even so I'm pretty gutted here.

Comments

• ben@31
    ben@31 Posts: 2,327
    Usually hitting a wall is diet related where you have ran out of glycogen energy stores if youve been working hard for a very long time and haven't taken onboard enough carbohydrate.

It's only happened to me once when I cycled for over 2 hours near max effort without eating. My legs just gave up and unable to turn the pedals anymore despite my conscious thought.

Or maybe your over training for your current level of fitness and the leg muscles are still fatigued from earlier in the week? Note... Most gains are made in the rest after working out hard. If you constantly worked out your muscles would never have the chance to repair back stronger.
    "The Prince of Wales is now the King of France" - Calton Kirby
  • lakesluddite
    lakesluddite Posts: 1,337
    Yes, as said, 'Hitting the wall', 'Bonking', 'crashing' or whatever you choose to call it, won't affect you until at least two or three hours into a ride (depending on how hard you go) - it's basically your body running out of fuel, and it feels like nothing else. A complete lack of energy, a cold claminess and a general sense of doom!